Mandatory Credit: David Banks-USA TODAY Sports

Bulls' Joakim Noah Named Defensive Player of the Year

Joakim Noah was named the 2013-14 NBA Defensive Player of the Year on Monday. Not a single Milwaukee Buck earned a vote.

The NBA announced Monday afternoon that Chicago’s Joakim Noah is the recipient of the 2013-14 Defensive Player of the Year award. The charismatic center received 100 of 125 possible first-place votes, 17 second-place votes and four third-place votes. Only four media members completely omitted him from their ballots.

In his seventh NBA season, Noah was once again the heart and soul of an elite Bulls defense compensating for the absence of Derrick Rose. Despite scoring the fewest points of any team in the league, Chicago finished 14 games above .500 (48-34), leading the league in points allowed (91.8) and finishing second only to the top-seeded Pacers in defensive efficiency and opponent’s field goal percentage.

Noah averaged a career-high 11.3 rebounds to go with 1.5 blocks and 1.3 steals per game.

Take a look at how all 125 media members cast their votes here.

You’ll notice the West holds a major advantage in terms of overall votes. Four of the top five vote-getters are Western Conference players, while just five of the 17 total players receiving votes are from the East.

In what must be some sort of twisted, media-wide prank, not a single Milwaukee Buck earned a vote. There’s always next year, O.J.

Next Bucks Game Full schedule »
Wednesday, Oct 2929 Oct7:00at Charlotte HornetsBuy Tickets

Tags: Joakim Noah

comments powered by Disqus