Mandatory Credit: David Banks-USA TODAY Sports

Spurs' Gregg Popovich Takes Home Coach Of The Year Honors

Mandatory Credit: Soobum Im-USA TODAY Sports

The ever-charasmatic Gregg Popovich took home his third NBA Coach of the Year award Tuesday.

The NBA continued to roll out its season awards Tuesday, with the latest honor going to San Antonio head coach Gregg Popovich.

Popovich was named the NBA Coach of the Year for the third time (2002-03, 2011-12), joining Pat Riley and Don Nelson as the only three-time winners in league history.

In his 18th season at the helm, Popovich led ageless San Antonio to a league-best 62-20 record, a four-game improvement over last season. It was the franchise’s 15th consecutive 50-win season and fourth season of 60 or more wins since 2002-03. San Antonio also reeled off a franchise-record 19 straight wins from Feb. 28 to April 2.

Popovich earned 59 of 124 possible first-place votes and garnered 380 total points, edging Phoenix’s Jeff Hornacek by 41 points. Bulls coach Tom Thibodeau finished third with 159 points. Take a look at the complete voting results here.

I think it goes without saying that Milwaukee’s Larry Drew did not receive any love from the voters. But shouts to Dominique Wilkins for giving Scott Brooks his lone third-place vote.

Next Bucks Game Full schedule »
Wednesday, Oct 2929 Oct7:00at Charlotte HornetsBuy Tickets

Tags: Gregg Popovich

comments powered by Disqus